Big picture vs. little picture tug-of-war

Standard

Sometimes it’s tricky to balance between “big picture” ideas and “little picture” implementation.

I met with someone who offered suggestions about creating a mobile app, and I’m trying to soak everything in but thinking in the back of my head, “Uhh, I’m still trying to figure out how to change the dimensions of parts of my homepage…”

I practiced tweeting explanations of baseball rules during a spring training game to about 15 followers, and later that day, met with someone who wanted to explore possibilities in back-end data collection/analysis of viewer behavior during sporting events.

I had conversations with an editor at ELLE.com about developing content to reach millions of readers of a fashion website, and then turned inward to try and figure out how to get more than 20 newsletter subscribers.

All of the “big picture” conversations were beneficial and helped me think about revenue streams, business models and customer preferences. But I admittedly had more fun reading through comments from newsletter subscribers (who are mostly friends and family at this point) and experiencing the “aha!” moment for a friend as he went through a football explainer on the site.

So as much as you want to take in others’ ideas and genuinely consider them, it’s also important to keep sight of the reasons for launching the project and have fun with it! Which seems like a “duh” observation when I write it out, but it’s helpful to remember when I’m inundated by too many “big ideas,” get too far into the weeds of a particular task, or get derailed by other “real life” things that come up.

A few other things:

Content strategy, version 219837294! For now, focus on the newsletter as my MVP; let explainers, glossary terms and eBook ideas develop as a byproduct of that.

Outbrain observations: I got a lot of traffic but a high bounce rate and no newsletter subscribers. The majority of the traffic came from sports sites like ESPN and SI.com, which isn’t my target audience. Quick conclusion: Sports are a popular topic and there’s potential there; I need to figure out how to reach my target audience of “casual fans” better.

Leave a Reply

